News

Funding Opportunity for Schools of Nursing in Doctoral-Level Gero Nursing

A new collaboration between the National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence (NHCGNE) and the Nursing Education Exchange (NEXus) is providing funding opportunities for institutions with a strong commitment to gerontological nursing.  Schools with doctoral programs in nursing who are interested in increasing access to doctoral level courses in gerontological nursing practice, education, and research, through partnerships and distance technology, are encouraged to apply.  This John A. Hartford Foundation/National Hartford Centers of Gerontological Nursing Excellence funding opportunity encourages schools of nursing to apply for an award of $10,000 to support membership in the NHCGNE and NEXus.

Ginette A. Pepper PhD, RN, FAAN, Professor and Director of the Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence at the University of Utah speaks about her students experience with NEXus. “Our PhD and DNP students value NEXus courses because they can often take courses directly from the experts most frequently cited in their field of study. In addition, these students are graduating from their respective programs and are qualified to teach gerontological nursing to all levels of nursing students.”

Kathy Magilvy, Professor and Associate Dean for Academic Programs at the University of Colorado College of Nursing states that “at Colorado we have had both DNP and PhD students take gerontology coursework through NEXus. Some of our students want content on clinical aspects of aging and others want research and theoretical aspects. It has been very helpful that each area of geriatric emphasis has been available. We could not offer this variety of courses with our current resources, but through NEXus, our capacity has been expanded.”

An orientation Webinar will be held on September 23, 2013 (from 10 AM – 12 PM PDT/11 AM - 1 PM MDT/12 PM - 2 PM CDT/ 1 PM - 3 PM EDT). To register or for additional information, please contact Terri Harvath.

For additional information visit the NHCGNE and NEXus RFA.

Theresa A. Harvath, PhD, RN, CNS, FAAN

Professor, Director, Hartford Center of Geriatric Nursing Excellence Oregon Health & Science University, School of Nursing

3455 SW US Veterans Road, SN-6S

Portland, OR 97239-2941

Email: harvatht@ohsu.edu

Work: 503-494-3855

 

NOTE: NEXus invites all schools of nursing to join, regardless of whether you qualify under this RFA. Schools who desire access to high quality doctoral level courses should contact Paul McNeil, Executive Director of Western Institute of Nursing.